Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Apollo 15 launched 1971

Apollo 15 crew: Commander David Scott, CMP Alfred Worden, LMP James Irwin

Apollo 15, launched July 26, 1971, was the first time the lunar rover was deployed and used on the moon's surface.  The mission was the fourth one to land on the moon and the ninth overall manned mission.  Its crew consisted of Commander David R. Scott; Command Module Pilot Alfred M. Worden; and Lunar Module Pilot James B. Irwin.

They reached lunar orbit on July 30 and Scott and Irwin touched down later the same day (UTC) in the Hadley area.  They spent 2 days and 18 hours on the surface, during which time they conducted three EVAs and deployed the Lunar Roving Vehicle (LRV) for its first use.

They returned to Earth August 7, logging in a total mission time of 12 days, 7 hours, 11 minutes, and 53 seconds.

No comments: