Sunday, May 7, 2017

Maiden voyage of Space Shuttle Endeavour launched 1992

Endeavour crew (L-R): Mission Specialist 4, Kathryn C. Thornton, Mission Specialist 2 Bruce E. Melnick, Mission Specialist 3 Pierre J. Thuot, Commander Daniel C. Brandenstein, Pilot Kevin P Chilton, Mission Specialist 5 Thomas D. Akers, Mission Specialist 1 Richard J. Hieb

Space Shuttle Endeavour, replacing the Columbia destroyed in 1986, launched on its first voyage May 7, 1992.  It was the first mission to have 3 astronauts performing EVAs simultaneously.  It was also the first space shuttle mission to have 4 EVAs.

No comments: